IPL 2020 trophy
IPL Trophy: BCCI

Out of the total leagues in the world if there is a league that stands above the rest it is “IPL”. Since its inception in 2008, the league has revolutionized the whole of cricket and people love to watch this 3-hour excitement over the long formats of the game.


Till the IPL 2022 season, there were 125 times a team has crossed the mark of 200 plus runs in an inning. With every season the tournament not only brings excitement but there are several records that are made and destroyed every time as per the fact 2022 season was the best among the rest seasons with the most number of 200 plus scores by the teams. In the year 2022, a total of 22 times teams crossed the mark of 200 plus score.

Teams with the most 200 plus scores in IPL

1) Chennai Super Kings – 21

csk team, 200 plus in IPL history
Chennai Super Kings: IPL

The most consistent team in the league starts from its inception. Players like Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Mathew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Brendon McCullum, and Albie Morkel define the batting strength of this team. CSK in the history of IPL has crossed 200 plus 21 times.

2) Royal Challengers Bangalore – 20

200 plus in IPL history, rcb team
Royal Challengers Bangalore: IPL

If unlucky is any other name, it would be “Royal Challenger Bangalore”. RCB has scored 20 times 200 plus in the IPL history but is still without an IPL trophy. With this RCB has also scored exactly 200 runs twice. In the 2013 season, the total of 263/5 against Pune Warriors is still unbroken and the highest ever for any team in IPL or T-20 history.


This match is also remembered for one more thing: the inning of “Christopher Henry Gayle”. He scored 175* which includes 13 boundaries and 17 Jaw-dropping strokeplay with sixes out of the park and breached the magic of every record and stunned the audience with every ball he’s sent into the stands and made him into history books.

Also Read | Top 5 lowest scores in IPL history

3) Kings XI Punjab – 17

KXIP, 200 plus in IPL history
Kings XI Punjab: IPL

The best season of KXIP was 2014 with the batting strength of Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, and David Miller.

KXIP has been the “underachiever” of the season from the very first season. They have never won the title under any of his best captains. Kings XI Punjab has scored 200 plus score 17 times in IPL history.


Teams with the most 200 plus scores in IPL

S.No. Team 200+ Matches
1 Chennai Super Kings 21 208
2 Royal Challengers Bangalore 20 226
3 Punjab Kings 17 218
4 Mumbai Indians 15 231
5 Rajasthan Royals 14 191
6 Sunrisers Hyderabad 12 152
7 Kolkata Knight Riders 12 223
8 Delhi Capitals 10 224
9 Lucknow Super Giants 2 15
10 Gujarat Lions 1 30
11 Deccan Chargers 1 75

*Statistics are updated till IPL 2022 and the scores of Champions League T20 are not included in this table and the exact 200 runs score of teams are not counted in the table.


*Pune Warriors (#45), Rising Pune Supergiants (#30), Kochi Tuskers Kerala (#14), and Gujrat Titans (16) did not score 200 plus score in IPL. (#Matches played by the team)

Follow us on Instagram

Also Read | Teams conceding 200 plus score most times in IPL

Also Read | Teams chasing 200+ targets most times in IPL