ICC World Cup, ICC Cricket World Cup Winners, ODI world cup winner list
CARDIFF, WALES – JUNE 08: General view of the Cricket World Cup Trophy during the Group Stage match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between England and Bangladesh at Cardiff Wales Stadium on June 08, 2019, in Cardiff, Wales. (Photo by Harry Trump/Getty Images)

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup, held every four years, is the pinnacle of One Day International (ODI) cricket. Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament features a series of preliminary qualification rounds, culminating in an electrifying finals event.


The first-ever Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England. Since then, the tournament has been held every four years, except for 1999, when it was held every two years due to the 2000 Summer Olympics.

From the fierce West Indian dominance in the late 1970s and 1980s to the emergence of new cricketing powerhouses like Australia and India, the ODI World Cup finals have witnessed exceptional displays of skill, nerve, and team spirit.

Legendary names such as Clive Lloyd, Kapil Dev, and Ricky Ponting have etched their names in cricket folklore through their match-winning performances on the grandest stage. Whether it was India’s triumph against the West Indies in 1983 or England’s dramatic win on boundary countback against New Zealand in 2019, these finals have produced unforgettable moments that continue to captivate cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Also Read | ICC ODI World Cup Hosting Countries List

The current champions are England, who won the 2019 Cricket World Cup against New Zealand in a thrilling final, and the next ODI World Cup, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, will be held in India.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners:

As we eagerly await the 2023 World Cup final, let us reflect on the rich history of this prestigious tournament and have a look at the ICC Cricket World Cup winners

  1. Australia: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
  2. West Indies: 1975, 1979
  3. India: 1983, 2011
  4. Pakistan: 1992
  5. Sri Lanka: 1996
  6. Advertisement
  7. England: 2019

Australia holds the record for the highest number of Cricket World Cup victories, having clinched the prestigious title five times. Both West Indies and India have achieved success in the tournament on two occasions. Meanwhile, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each emerged victorious once in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup.

List of each ICC Cricket World Cup Final:

Year Final Match Venue Winner Runner-Up Winning Score Runner-Up Score Result
1975 West Indies vs Australia Lord’s Cricket Ground, London West Indies Australia 291/8 274/10 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies vs England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London West Indies England 286/9 194/10 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India vs West Indies Lord’s Cricket Ground, London India West Indies 183/10 140/10 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia vs England Eden Gardens, Kolkata Australia England 253/5 246/8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan vs England Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne Pakistan England 249/6 227/10 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka vs Australia Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore Sri Lanka Australia 245/3 241/7 Sri Lanka won by 22 runs
1999 Australia vs Pakistan Lord’s Cricket Ground, London Australia Pakistan 133/2 (D/L) 132/10 Australia won by 8 wickets (with 30 balls remaining)
2003 Australia vs India Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg Australia India 359/2 234/10 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia vs Sri Lanka Kensington Oval, Bridgetown Australia Sri Lanka 281/4 (D/L) 215/8 Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method)
2011 India vs Sri Lanka Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai India Sri Lanka 277/4 275/10 India won by 6 wickets (with 10 balls remaining)
2015 Australia vs New Zealand Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne Australia New Zealand 186/3 183/10 Australia won by 7 wickets (with 101 balls remaining)
2019 England vs New Zealand Lord’s Cricket Ground, London England New Zealand 241/10 241/8 England won on boundary countback rule after the match and Super Over ended in a tie

The ODI World Cup finals epitomize the pinnacle of limited-overs cricket, where dreams are realized, heroes are born, and legends are made.

Follow us on Twitter for more updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here