ab de villiers and virat kohli vs gujrat Lions, most centuries in ipl by team,
Virat Kohli and Ab De Villiers at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, India, on the 14th May 2016 (Photo by Shaun Roy / IPL/ SPORTZPICS)

Most centuries in IPL by Team: Today, the form of cricket has changed entirely after the 2010s. A young cricketer is more fond of tournaments like IPL than international cricket.


We all know IPL is one of the best cricket leagues in the world. The thrill of IPL has increased year by year. IPL is discussed throughout the year more than anything else. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have been the two most successful franchises in the history of IPL.

Since the inception of the Indian Premier League in 2008, as many as 13 franchises have played till 2021. In this article, we will tell you the top 5 teams with the most centuries in IPL history from IPL 2008 to IPL 2021.

1) Royal challengers Bangalore – 14

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Royal Challengers Bangalore: IPL

RCB’s dream to win the trophy is yet to be completed in its long 13-year history. Dangerous players have been a part of this Team one after the other, but the journey remained incomplete. Chris Gayle, AB De Villiers, and Virat Kohli have been part of this franchise.

RCB’s players have scored 14 centuries in IPL from 2008 to 2021 in 211 matches. RCB is leading the chart of most centuries by a team in IPL history from 2008 to 2021.

2) Punjab Kings – 13

Punjab Kings IPL 2021, most centuries in ipl by team
Punjab Kings in IPL 2021 (Source: BCCI/IPL)

Punjab Kings have also not won the IPL trophy so far. The journey from Kings XI Punjab to Punjab Kings could not change the team’s fortunes.

Even though the journey of IPL has not been remarkable, the team is second only to Bangalore, in terms of most centuries in IPL by the team. 13 Centuries have been scored by the players of Punjab Kings in total 204 matches from IPL 2008 to 2021.

Also Read | Most sixes in an inning of IPL by a team


3) Delhi Capitals – 10

Delhi Capitals in IPL
Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021 (Source: BCCI/IPL)

The history of the Delhi Capitals has entirely changed under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer. Before that, the team had many captains, but the team could not do anything special.

Players of the Delhi Capitals have crossed the 100-run mark ten times in 210 matches from 2008 to 2021. Delhi Capitals is only 3rd team with double-digit Individual hundred in IPL history. However, it remains to be seen when this team will win the IPL trophy.

4) Chennai Super Kings – 9

csk team
Chennai Super Kings: IPL

Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings has been the most successful team in IPL history. Hayden, Brendon McCullum, Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja, and captain Dhoni used to be the heartbeat of the people, not just of the team.

Chennai Super Kings have many records in the history of IPL and many of which are intact even today. CSK’s players have scored nine centuries in 175 matches from 2008 to 2021.

5) Rajasthan Royals

rajasthan royals, most centuries in ipl by team
Rajasthan Royal (Source: IPL/BCCI)

Rajasthan Royals is at the last place in this list, having crossed the 100-run mark nine times in 175 matches from 2008 to 2021. The Royals won the first season of IPL by defeating Chennai Super Kings, but it never happened again, and the team is still waiting for the second trophy.

So Rajasthan Royals is at no. 5 in the list of teams with most individual centuries in IPL history.

Most Centuries in IPL by the Team from 2008 to 2021

S. No. Team Centuries Matches
1 Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 211
2 Punjab Kings 13 204
3 Delhi Capitals 10 210
4 Chennai Super Kings 9 195
5 Rajasthan Royals 9 175
6 Mumbai Indians 4 217
7 Sunrisers Hyderabad 3 138
8 Deccan Chargers 2 75
9 Rising Pune Supergiant 2 30
10 Kolkata Knight Riders 1 209


Also Read | Most sixes in an inning of IPL by a team

Also Read | Team with the most runs in IPL from 2008 to 2021

Follow us on Twitter for more updates

Leave a Reply