sunil gavaskar and ramiz raja
Sunil Gavaskar and Rameez Raja (Source: Google Images)

Former Pakistan captain and now commentator Rameez Raja and former Indian opening batsman Sunil Gavaskar has chosen their one-day XI team consisting of players from India and Pakistan.


Former India captain and now commentator Sunil Gavaskar has chosen his different playing XI from Ramiz Raja by combining players from India and Pakistan. He admitted that it might not be the best XI that represented both teams. But these are the players they want to see play together.

Gavaskar has chosen Virender Sehwag and veteran Pakistani batsman Hanif Mohammed as their opening pair in their XI. It is followed by Zaheer Abbas at number three and then Sachin Tendulkar from India.

Also Read | Danish Kaneria feels Shahid Afridi ruined his international career

At number 5 Indian batsman Gundappa Vishwanath has been placed. At number six India’s World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev has been placed. Apart from them, Wasim Akram, Abdul Qadir, and former Indian leg spinner B Chandrasekhar have been included.

Gavaskar’s India-Pakistan XI team:

Hanif Mohammad, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Abbas, Sachin Tendulkar, Gundappa Vishwanath, Kapil Dev, Imran Khan, Syed Kirmani, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Abdul Qadir.

Rameez Raja’s team

Ramiz raja, Sunil Gavaskar  and Rameez Raja
Former Pakistan Cricketer Ramiz Raja (Source: Google Images)


found it difficult to choose this team and for this, he had to take the help of his son too. In this team of Rameez, he has selected only one bowler from India. He selects India’s famous leg-spinner of his time Anil Kumble.


“I discussed with my son to build this team. This situation,” Rameez said Saturday at the Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN) program ‘Sony Ten Pit Stop’ along with former Indian cricket team captain Sunil Gavaskar. It was very difficult to combine so many big stars in one team. ”

“But he (son) told me that it is very easy. You should keep Pakistan bowlers and India batsmen. You will have a great India-Pakistan XI team ready,” Rameez said.

Rameez has picked up former captain Sunil Gavaskar with explosive batsman Virender Sehwag as the opening pair. The current Indian captain Virat Kohli has been selected to bat at number three, Sachin Tendulkar at number four followed by Rahul Dravid.

Former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who made India the world champion, has been placed at number six. After this, the former Pakistani bowler Imran Khan who won the World Cup. Rameez has also made Imran the captain of this team.


Only Kumble has been given a place by the bowlers from India. Kumble is with Saqlain Mushtaq in the team. In fast bowling, the pair of Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis has been kept.

Rameez Raza’s India-Pakistan ODI XI:

Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Imran Khan (c), Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Anil Kumble, Saqlain Mushtaq.