ian bishop
Ian Bishop (Source: Google Images)

Former Caribbean fast bowler and commentator Ian Bishop picked the best ODI team of the last decade.


Ian Bishop selected the team from among the best performing players from 2010 to 2019 and included three Indian players in it. He has selected MS Dhoni from India as the captain of the team. Ian Bishop chose this team during a discussion with Indian commentator Harsha Bhogle on Cricbuzz.

This former Caribbean bowler picked Rohit Sharma and David Warner as the opener. Rohit is the only player in the world to score three double centuries in International ODI cricket and he also holds the record for most 264 runs in International ODI. David Warner has scored 150+ runs in an ODI 6 times.

Also Read | Can Virat Kohli score 100 international centuries, KP has his answer

Virat Kohli’s selection for batting at number 3 was the easiest for him. Virat Kohli is currently playing in all three formats of World Cricket. Records of Virat Kohli are unmatchable in chasing the target.


Former South African batsman AB de Villiers was placed in the fourth position. New Zealand veteran Ross Taylor was named as the fifth-order batsman. Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh managed to make the place as an all-rounder.

Ian Bishop chose MS Dhoni as the wicketkeeper and captain. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the only captain in the world to have won all three ICC major titles under his leadership.

Australia’s Mitchell Starc, South Africa’s Dale Steyn, and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga were given the responsibility for the fast bowling attack, while Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan made it to the team as a spinner.


Also Read | Sunil Narine calls India his second home

Ian Bishop’s ODI XI of the Decade:


Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Ross Taylor, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan.