Kagiso Rabada and AB De Villiers, 3t cricket league postponed
Kagiso Rabada and AB De Villiers: Getty Images

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Saturday postponed its ‘3T Cricket’ league indefinitely. The tournament was earlier scheduled to be played on 27 June. CSA talked to its stakeholders and felt that more work is needed to organize the tournament, so they decided to postpone it.


Cricket South Africa postponed 3T Cricket League

The CSA tweeted,

“The operational teams behind the Solidarity match and event partners in collaboration with Cricket South Africa, 3TCricket and SuperSport met to consider the readiness to host the event on 27th June.”


Accordingly, after the meeting, it became clear that more work needed to be done to prepare for it. In the coming days, Cricket South Africa will announce a new date. The main aim of this league was to restore the cricket in South Africa during the Covid-19 epidemic.


Last week CSA chief executive Jacques Faul announcing this league said,

“Government have to gazette the Level 3 regulations and then the minister of the sport will go over the return-to-play protocols that we have sent, which he must agree with,”

In this league, 24 top players from South Africa will participate. All these players will take part in a match of three teams. The three teams participating in the Solidarity Cup are Eagles, Kingfishers, and Kites. AB de Villiers has the responsibility of captaining the Eagles. While Kagiso Rabada responsibility of captaining the Kingfishers. Quinton de Kock will be captaining the Eagles team.


This tournament has different rules than the other cricket leagues and tournaments. This league was to make a change in the modern era cricket. But for now, cricket fans have to wait for the new official announcement from the CSA.


Follow us on Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here