Power Player in IPL 2020, 15 players instead of 11 players

Most consecutive losses in IPL: Losing is something that the IPL teams hate. This is one thing that everyone wishes that they do not get into. The fact is that once a team starts losing, their winning mindset goes in the backtrack. Chennai Super Kings has never witnessed a long losing streak because they have a legendary captain like MS Dhoni, who is holding the team’s reins.


But the same is not the case for all other franchises. Some captains have a weak mindset, which is why they cannot change the players’ minds once they start losing games. This even tempts the team management to change the team captain. Here’s a list of the top 3 teams with the most consecutive losses in IPL history.

Most Consecutive losses in IPL history

3) Kolkata Knight Riders – 9 losses (All in 2009)

KKR in IPL 2009, most consecutive losses in IPL
Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2009: BCCI/IPL

KKR is a solid team right now, but in 2009, the Purple and Gold army could not trouble its opponents much. The reason behind it was the team that had lost its Pakistani star players like Salman Butt, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Akhtar, and even Umar Gul.

The South African conditions did not suit the younger lot of the team as they kept on losing games and recorded a losing streak of 9 matches.

2) Pune Warriors India – 11 losses (9 in 2012 and 2 in 2013)

Pune Warriors India, most consecutive losses in IPL
Pune Warriors India in IPL 2012: IPL/BCCI

PWI franchise did not have the luck by its side. They became the team with the worst win-loss record in IPL history in their brief existence. They never made it to the playoffs as they always found themselves in the lower half of the standings.

Pune had been home to some of the greatest names like Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Steve Smith, Angelo Mathews, and Murali Kartik. However, the team recorded nine defeats in 2012 and 2 in 2013 to become the owner of the dismal record of the joint-longest IPL losing streak.


Also Read | Top 3 Teams in IPL with most 200 plus Score

1) Delhi Daredevils – 11 losses (9 in 2014 and 2 in 2015)

Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2015, most consecutive losses in IPL
Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2015: BCCI/IPL

DD underwent a revamp in December 2018 as they reinvented themselves in the form of Delhi Capitals.

Later, the owners thought to change the name, and the move worked like magic as Delhi qualified for the playoffs and even finished in the Top 3. Still, one cannot erase that they lost nine matches on a trot in 2014 and added two more in 2015 to top this unwanted record list.


Follow us on Instagram.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here