Jadeja 37 runs vs Harshal Patel, Most expensive over in IPL
Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) vs RCB in IPL 2021

Star all-rounder of Chennai Super Kings Ravindra Jadeja on 25th April 2021 against RCB at Wankhede Stadium equalled the record of hitting the most runs in an over in IPL history with Chris Gayle.


Ravindra Jadeja considered one of India’s finest all-rounders, once again explained why he is called Sir Jadeja.

Jadeja scored 37 runs in the last over of the inning with the help of 5 sixes, 1 four, and 2 runs to help CSK score 191 runs. With this, Jadeja became the highest run-scorer in 1 overs in the IPL. Here is the list of most expensive over in IPL history:

1) Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) vs Harshal Patel (RCB) – 37 runs in IPL 2021

Ravindra jadeja, ravindra jadeja csk
Ravindra Jadeja after hitting 37 runs in an over against Harshal Patel (Source: BCCI)

In the match 19th match of IPL 2021 played at Mumbai’s Wankhede between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings Ravindra Jadeja scored 37 runs in 1 over. Ravindra Jadeja achieved this feat in over of Harshal Patel. With this RCB’s Harshal Patel proved to be the most expensive bowler in IPL till now. He conceded 37 runs in 1 over to Ravindra Jadeja.

Timeline: 6, 6, N+6, 6, 2, 6, 4 = 37 runs

2) Chris Gayle (RCB) vs Prasanth Parameswaran (KTK) – 37 Runs in IPL 2011

Chris Gayle vs Prasanth Parameswaran
Chris Gayle vs Prasanth Parameswaran in IPL 2011 (Source: ESPN)

Before Ravindra Jadeja, Chris Gayle had the record of scoring the most runs in a single over in IPL. In 2011, Chris Gayle this feat while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore. In this over, 4 sixes and 3 fours came off his bat. Here Chris Gayle also got 1 run of no ball and this over was of 7 balls. The over was bowled by Kochi Tuskers Karela bowler Prashanth Parameswaran.


Timeline: 6, nb + 6, 4, 4, 6, 6, 4 = 37 runs

3) Suresh Raina (CSK) vs Prvinder Awana (KXIP) – 33 runs in IPL 2014

Suresh Raina IPL 2014
Suresh Raina in IPL 2014 vs Kings XI Punjab (Source: BCCI)

Suresh Raina of Chennai Super Kings known is at number three on this list. He scored 32 runs in 2014 in an over from Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) bowler Parvinder Awana. In this over Suresh Raina scored 2 sixes and 5 fours (including a four on a no-ball).

In this match, Suresh Raina scored 87 runs in just 25 balls before he got run out.

Timeline: 6, 6, 4, 4, nb + 4, 4, 4 = 33 runs

4) Chris Gayle (KKR) and Manoj Tiwari vs Ravi Bopara – 33 runs in IPL 2010

chris gayle ipl 2010
Chris Gayle in IPL 2010 playing for Kolkata Knight Riders (Source: BCCI)

In IPL 2010 when Chris Gayle used to play for Kolkata Knight Riders he then created the record of most runs in an over in IPL history. Chris Gayle and Manoj Tiwari both playing for KKR added 33 runs in an over of Ravi Bopara who was then playing for Kings XI Punjab.


In this over Chris Gayle smashed 4 consecutive sixes which made this over extraordinary before Ravi Bopara gave 6 extra runs in that over.

Timeline: 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, wide + 4, wide + 1, 1 = 33 runs


Like us on Facebook for more updates

Leave a Reply