England Women Team
England Women Team (Source: ICC)

ICC on Monday in a press release has announced 6 women teams for Commonwealth Games, 2022 which are going to be held next year in England.


This is going to be the first time cricket will be played in Commonwealth Games since 1998 Commonwealth Games heald in Malaysia where South Africa’s men team won the tournament.

Also, this is going to be the first time women team are going to participate in Commonwealth Games. Eight women teams will participate in this T-20 tournament. Out of eight teams, ICC has announced 6 teams who have been qualified.

As a host nation, England are already qualified and 5 teams are announced on basis of ICC Women’s T20 rankings. Accordingly, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, South Africa are included.

2 teams are yet to be added out of which 1 team will be from West Indies Region qualifier. Another team will be selected from the Commonwealth Games qualifier.


ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice also made a statement on this. He said,

“We are incredibly proud and excited to be part of Birmingham 2022 and it is a fantastic opportunity for us to continue to grow the women’s game globally.

We are committed to maintaining the momentum that saw 86,174 fans packed into the Melbourne Cricket Ground for the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup last year and Birmingham 2022 gives us another global stage on which to showcase the women’s game.”


In November 2018, ICC and ECB made a bid for including cricket at this level. In August 2019 Commonwealth Games federation approved after a vote. According to Cricket Pundits, this step can lead to the inclusion of cricket games in the Olympics

Like us Facebook for more updates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here