aakash chopra
Aakash Chopra (Source – Google Images)

Former Indian cricketer and now commentator Aakash Chopra has selected the 14-member Indian cricket team for the ICC T20 World Cup 2020. Surprisingly former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Shikhar Dhawan have not got a place in this team of Chopra.



Aakash Chopra has selected 14 cricketers in the Indian team for the T20 World Cup on his YouTube channel. He has included four main fast bowlers and two all-rounders in the team Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dubey.

He has chosen Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul as the opener for this squad. Rohit Sharma has been opening in ODIs since 2013. Now Rahul too has confirmed his place in T20 too after recent series against New Zealand in which he scored 224 runs in five matches and 204 runs in three ODIs.


In this team of Aakash Chopra, Indian captain Virat Kohli will bat at number three and after him Rishabh Pant. However, Rishabh Pant is no longer a member of the team in any format after the 2019 World Cup. He has also selected Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dubey as bowling all-rounders.

Also Read | What is the business model of IPL? Know how IPL team owners earn money

Two spinners, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are also part of this team. Aakash Chopra has included four pacer – Jaspreet Bumrah, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami in his team.

Excluded MS Dhoni and Shikhar Dhawan from the team

ms dhoni
MS Dhoni (Source: Google Images)

MS Dhoni has been away from cricket since the World Cup last year. Shikhar Dhawan is also out of the T20 team due to injury and his poor performance. IPL 2020 has been postponed indefinitely due to Coronavirus. In such a situation many questions have arisen regarding the return of Dhoni.

MS Dhoni has been away from cricket for a long time. The IPL was considered his comeback, but now his future hangs in the balance due to the failure of this tournament.

Aakash Chopra’s 14-member ICC T20 World Cup 2020

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dubey, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jaspreet Bumrah, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.