Aakash Chopra and MS Dhoni
Aakash Chopra (left) and MS Dhoni (right)

Former player of the Indian team, Akash Chopra has selected the best ODI XI of the present time. It is worth noting that Mahendra Singh Dhoni has not got a place in his team and he has appointed Eoin Morgan as the captain of his team.


Akash Chopra’s team does not include any players from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. Babar Azam is the 12th player of this team. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is also not included in this team. Chopra has named Shai Hope and Rohit Sharma as the team’s openers. Shai Hope will also be the wicketkeeper of this team.

Indian team captain Virat Kohli will play at number three in this team, while New Zeal and batsman Ross Taylor has placed at number 4. Chopra praised Taylor and said that he has scored a lot in the last two years.


Also Read | Chahal challenges Sakshi Dhoni for ludo

Eoin Morgan not only retained the team’s number 5 but also preferred him over Kohli and made him captain. It was under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan that England won the 2019 World Cup and that is why they are preferred for captaincy.

Akash Chopra has hired Ben Stokes and Shakib Al Hasan as all-rounders. Both these players are brilliant batsmen, who can also bowl 10 overs. However, Akash Chopra has not retained Jaspreet Bumrah, Trent Boult, and Kagiso Rabara. In the bowling department, he has placed Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, and Lockie Ferguson.

Akash Chopra’s current ODI XI is as follows:

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Ross Taylor, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, and Lockie Ferguson.