Indian Test cricket team
Indian test cricket team against New Zealand at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai  (2022)- BCCI/Twitter

We all know that the test match is the ultimate form of cricket. However, limited-overs cricket has added excitement to fans for cricket in our fast-moving life because of cricket leagues played around the world. But only true cricket fans understand the excitement of test cricket when two top-notch nations play in extremely tough conditions to survive the session.


And on top of that for a visiting team, it becomes hard to beat the host country in unfavorable conditions. For countries like New Zealand, Australia, England, and South Africa to play in Asian countries is as formidable as the Asian team winning in those countries.

Today we are going to talk about the team which holds the record of the most consecutive test series win at home. And as of now, the modern Indian cricket team under the captaincy of Virat Kohli has broken so many records of test cricket.

Indian team is unbeatable at home since losing the test series at home to England in 2012-2013. Since then Indian team is yet to lose a test series at home which is a commendable achievement for the Indian team since Virat Kohli has taken over the captaincy. India has played 15 test series at home after that series loss against England and they are yet to lose a test series at home.


So India holds the record of the most consecutive test series wins at home with 15 test series which is still alive. The Australian team is next after India who had won the 10 consecutive series at home twice and none of the other teams has won more than the eight series consecutively at home.

Record of most consecutive test series win at home

Here is the list of India’s Test series win at home since losing to England in 2012/2013

S.No. Year Opponent Matches Result
1 2012-13 Australia 4 4-0
2 2013-14 West Indies 2 2-0
3 2015-16 South Africa 4 3-0
4 2016-17 New Zealand 3 3-0
5 2016-17 England 5 4-0
6 2016-17 Bangladesh 1 1-0
7 2016-17 Australia 4 2-1
8 2017-18 Sri Lanka 3 1-0
9 2017-18 Afghanistan 1 1-0
10 2018-19 West Indies 2 2-0
11 2019-20 South Africa 3 3-0
12 2019-20 Bangladesh 2 2-0
13 2020-21 England 4 3-1
14 2021-22 New Zealand 2 1-0
15 2021-22 Sri Lanka 2 2-0

(Record updated last 14-3-2022 since test series win against Sri Lanka at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, Bangalore)

Follow us on Twitter for more updates

Leave a Reply