Sri Lanka team practice
Sri Lanka team: SLC

Sri Lanka’s 13-member cricket team will begin the practice from Monday amid tight guidelines due to the Coronavirus epidemic, including on-field practice which will begin on Tuesday.


Cricket has been stalled in Sri Lanka since March due to the Kovid-19 epidemic. The England team came to Sri Lanka for a two-Test series but returned home due to the coronavirus epidemic. This series between England and Sri Lanka has now been postponed indefinitely.

Sri Lanka cricket starts practice session from Monday

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) issued a statement saying that the practice session will last for 12 days in which 13 players will participate.

“A selected squad of 13 members will undergo a 12-day ‘Residential Training Camp’ at the Colombo Cricket Club”

The practice session will begin with a fitness session at a hotel in Colombo on Monday. After which payers will practice in groups the following day.

Also Read | Sri Lanka Cricket waiting for India and Bangladesh approval for the tour in July

The SLC also included this in its statement that members attending the practice camp will not be allowed to leave the hotel or practice venue for personal reasons.


“Members taking part in the camp, will not be allowed to leave the hotel premises or the practice venue to attend personal matters during the training period”

It is also stated that the players participating in the camp have been selected from all formats. It also states that squad primarily comprised of bowlers. Because bowlers need more time to adapt before participating in active tourn aments.


“The players taking part in the camp represents a general squad chosen from across all formats, and primarily consist of bowlers. as they need more time for ‘conditioning’ before going into active competition,”


According to the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Future Tour Program (FTP), Sri Lanka were to play a three-match ODI series from South Africa and India in June-July. He has to host Bangladesh for three Test matches in August. All three matches are part of the World Test Championship.