Shashank Manohar, Shashank Manohar chairman ICC
Shashank Manohar: PTI

Shashank Manohar resigned on Wednesday after the end of the term of the chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC). He held this position for two years. According to the ICC press release, deputy chairman Imran Khwaja has been made interim chairman until the election.


A 62-year-old lawyer by profession, Manohar has also served as the BCCI President twice before. He was previously the BCCI President from 2008 to 2011 and then held the post again from October 2015 to May 2016.

ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney thanked Manohar

“On behalf of the ICC Board and staff and the whole cricket family, I would like to thank Shashank for his leadership and everything he has done for the sport as ICC Chairman. We wish him and his family all the very best for the future.”

The timing of Manohar’s exit could not have happened at a better time for the BCCI, Because BCCI is planning to host the Indian Premier League in place of the ICC T20 World Cup in Australia during October-November.


Colin Graves and Sourav Ganguly in the race

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly: BCCI

Colin Graves, head of the England and Wales Cricket Board is in the race of new ICC chairman post. England, New Zealand, Australia, and the West Indies are in favor of Colin Graves. He also has good relations with the Indian board, although the BCCI has not openly supported his claim. It is also believed that BCCI will have better relations with Graves than Manohar.

Also Read | ICC election: A Brewing Storm

Apart from Colin Graves, Sourav Ganguly of India is the main contender for the post of ICC chairman. The claim of former Indian captain Ganguly, however, depends on whether the Supreme Court gives him a chance to continue as BCCI president by giving him a relaxation in the mandatory breaks under the administrative reformist steps of the Lodha Committee.


Follow us on Instagram

Leave a Reply