Prithivi Shaw vs New Zealand test
Image Source: Google

Youngster Prithvi Shaw on Tuesday returned into the Indian Test team for the two-match series against New Zealand whereas another talented player Mayank Agarwal came in the ODI squad.


They have come in place of injured Rohit Sharma who was ruled out from the rest of the ODI and Test series after sustaining an injury in his calf muscle during the final T20I game against New Zealand.

Prithvi Shaw, who last played for India in October 2018 has returned to play two-Test series begins in Wellington on February 21.

He had made a century on his Test debut against the West Indies in October 2018 and also earned a maiden ODI call-up for the New Zealand series.

However, he had to serve an eight-month doping ban last year but he has been among runs in domestic cricket which included the double century against Baroda. He recently scored 150 against New Zealand A while playing for India A.

Rohit Sharma injured

Rohit sharma injured vs New Zealand, New Zealand vs India
Image Source: BCCI

As Rohit Sharma also ruled out of three-match ODI series which will begin from Wednesday, Mayank Agarwal replaces Rohit in the opening slot along with Prithvi Shaw, despite having KL Rahul in the kitty. However, Rahul will bat in the middle-order.

“Vice-captain Rohit Sharma sustained a left calf muscle strain during the fifth T20I against New Zealand at Tauranga on Sunday. He underwent an MRI scan in Hamilton on Monday. The opening batsman has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI and the Test series and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for further management of his injury,”

said the BCCI in a statement.

Shubhman Gill in Test

New Zealand vs India, shubhman gill
Image Source: BCCI

Along with Shaw, his U-19 teammate Shubman Gill has also retained his place in the Test squad after a stunning double hundred for India A against New Zealand on Sunday. Since his double ton came while batting at number four, he can be used in the middle-order.

On the other hand, seamer Navdeep Saini has made it to the Test squad following a stunning show in limited-overs cricket. Although he had earned his maiden Test call-up for the one-off Test against Afghanistan in 2018, he is yet to make his debut in the longer format of the game.


India’s Test squad for New Zealand series

Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).