Azhar Ali, Pakistan team for England
Pakistan Cricket team’s test captain Azhar Ali: PCB

Amid the Coronavirus epidemic, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announces a 29 players Pakistan team for the tour of England on Friday.. Pakistan’s team to tour England for 3 match test Test series and as many T20I matches in August-September.


The Pakistan team has included two new faces Haider Ali and Kashif Bhatt. At the same time, Sohail Khan has returned to the Pakistan team. Sohail last played for Pakistan against Australia in 2016.

Haider had a terrific performance in the 2019-20 season after which he also secured an ‘Emerging’ contract for the 2020-21 season. He was also the second most successful batsman of the Pakistan Under-19 team.

While announcing the team, the Pakistan Cricket Board has made it clear that it has included some players who are experts in ODI format for the Test series. Pakistan will play a series of three Tests and three T20 matches against England.

Apart from this, two senior players of the team Mohammad Aamir and Harris Sohail have withdrawn from the tour of England for this series. Aamir is about to become a father for the second time in August. While Harris has decided not to go to England for family reasons.


Series will be challenging

Head coach and the chief selectors Misbah-ul-Haq thinks that this series will be challenging for Pakistan. As per PCB Media, he said,

“The series against England will be challenging as our players have not played any competitive cricket since March. While the home team will come following a series against the West Indies. This means we will have to hit the ground running as soon as we land in England and make the best use of the training sessions and match practice before we enter the first Test.”


Pakistan team for England tour 2020

Abid Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali (captain), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmad, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Imran Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz, Imad Wasim, Kashif Bhatti, Shadab Khan, and Yasir Shah.


Follow us on Instagram