Captain Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni are rested for the upcoming T20 tri-series in Sri Lanka. It was confirmed on Sunday when the selection panel announced India’s squad for the T20 tri-series.

Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni rested for the Nisadh Tri Series

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav are also given rest. All rounder Hardik Pandya have also been rested for this tri-series.

Workload issue

“We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalizing the team for Nidahas Trophy. The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury,” said Chairman of the Selection committee MSK Prasad in a statement.

Why MS Dhoni rested?

According to MSK Prasad, MS Dhoni asked for the rest. “MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest,” he said.

Indian captain for the Nisadh Trophy

 Rohit Sharma is named as captain for T20 I tri series team announced

In Virat Kohli’s absence Rohit Sharma will lead the team. Rohit Sharma has captained the team in Kohli’s absence in four T20Is over the last couple of months. Vice captain will be Shikhar Dhawan as the deputy of Rohit Sharma.

The squad: Rohit Sharma (Capt.), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-capt.), K.L. Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wk).