Preity Zinta co-owned franchise Kings XI Punjab ended all the wait and announced the name of their skipper for the eleventh edition of Indian Premier League. And it’s none other than India’s off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

Punjab based franchise took it to the social-networking site, Facebook to announce their skipper and posted a video in which team’s mentor Virender Sehwag told the fans the name of the skipper.

However, there are mixed reactions in the fans, as some of the fans were expecting Yuvraj Singh to be named as the captain of the team.

Ravichandran Ashwin on becoming captain for KXIP

While talking to KXIP, Ashwin said, “I feel honoured to be trusted with the responsibility of leading such a talented bunch of cricketers,” said Ashwin.

“I am confident of bringing out the best out of teammates. This is indeed a proud moment for me.”

R Ashwin also openly talked about the responsibility as the captain and said, “There is no additional pressure on me as such. I first led my state side in the first-class cricket when I was 21. I have done it in the past and I am sure that I will enjoy the challenge.”

Year wise captains for Kings XI Punjab

Ravichandran Ashwin (India,2018)
Glenn Maxwell (Australia, 2017),
Murali Vijay (India, 2016),
David Miller (South Africa, 2016),
George Bailey (Australia, 2014 and 2015),
David Hussey (Australia, 2012 and 2013),
Adam Gilchrist (Australia, 2011 and 2012),
Mahela Jayawardene ((Sri Lanka, 2010),
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, 2009)
Yuvraj Singh (India, 2008)

Kings XI Punjab full squad:

Akshar Patel, KL Rahul, Ravichandran Ashwin, Andrew Tye, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Karun Nair, Mujeeb Zadran, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, David Miller, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Singh Sran, Yuvraj Singh, Christopher Gayle, Ben Dwarshuis, Akshdeep Nath, Manoj Tiwary, Mayank Agarwal, Manzoor Dar, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar